How to do Tonglen Meditation – a Beginner’s Guide

Before I understood what it was, or could even sit in quiet meditation for long, this is a meditation I did for years. Tonglen is Tibetan for ‘giving and receiving’. I’ve always felt a deep connection to both His Holiness the Dalai Lama and the Tibetan people. Life is fascinating.

Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Heart Chakra image from Juicy*S Heart Chakra image from Juicy*S

“No one is useless in this world who lightens the burdens of another.” 
~ Charles Dickens

At times it is easy to feel small and insignificant – unable to help when all we feel in our hearts is an urge to try. When those we know are suffering, or when there is a catastrophe in another part of the world we might wonder what can be done.

There is something we can do. Meditate!

I first started practicing this meditation as a small girl – maybe three or four years of age.  No one taught me.  I just seemed to know what to do.  My baby sister was fidgeting and restless one night, tossing and turning in the bed beside mine as her teeth came through. I breathed in her fever and distress with every in-breath, and with every out-breath I imagined my breath covering her…

View original post 509 more words

Leave a Reply

