Plans and the New Year

I could say I am on the New Year bandwagon of resolutions and thoughts however that would not be true. I tend to go through all that in the days leading up to the Solstice (Winter here in Australia). By the time Christmas arrives, I am usually relatively at peace (well, other than the usual chaos the 25th creates in place of crazy humidity and heat). Then January comes around I have already made steps towards moving into the New Year’s energy.

This year, I am hopeful for a continued and upward turn in health after 2015 was taken over by studying and living with Ross River Fever. It is still not gone and probably won’t be for quite some time. It just means I have to be even more organised and aware than usual of my body’s messages.

Towards the end of last year, amidst the chaos of a particularly challenging set of study circumstances, I re-commenced wording.

Not a lot, but a start. After realising the idea of word counts and daily writing is really not for me (no matter how many ways I jigged it), I’ve crunched data and decided to pursue a way that works for me. I have created a loose-leaf page (on pretty paper) to use to help me track and remember (regular illness makes time go wonky and wibbly wobbly). I can and do tend to be organised only to be waylaid by bad health (rinse and repeated that cycle for too many decades, yes, decades). The result is I have also taken on a couple of things for 2016 that are all about organisation and accountability.

front-page-me-plannerThe first is I’ve joined in with Nicole Cody and her Year of ME Planner (ME = Manifesting Energies). It is filled with things I have done in a scattered way (literally at times across my desk). Nicole has brought it all together into one place and blends the practical with the mystical. It’s going to be interesting to look back come December. The mystical side of myself, I am curious to see how it reveals publicly as it is a side of myself those closest to me have always seen, but publicly or in the online world, I’ve been a bit more circumspect about sharing.

sunday-circle-bannerThe other thing I’ve committed myself to is a creative circle that Peter M Ball has going on his blog. The Sunday Circle is a way for me to be specifically and (online publicly) writing accountable. The amusing (for me) thing is both use Sunday as a planning day whereas I’ve tended to use Monday as my planning of the week ahead. I see Sunday as the thinking time and Monday morning as the accountability time (one of the joys of not working a Monday for a long time, even when I was day jobbing, I had Mondays off).

Let’s see what 2016 brings.

Leave a Reply

